Executive Body



Member of RPA Supreme Body

Date and Place of Birth

April 12, 1954, Sarukhan village of Gegharkunik Marz

1970 graduated from secondary school N1 of Gavar with gold medal

1975 graduated from the YSU Applied Mathematics Department

1989 graduated from the Moscow Academy of Political Sciences honors diploma

1994 graduated from the YSU Law Department with honors diploma, Doctor-Professor of Law

1975-1983, lecturer at the YSU Applied Mathematics Department, 1978-1983 Deputy Secretary of YSU Komsomol Committee

1983-1985, Secretary of ASSR Central Committee of Komsomol

1985-1990, First Secretary of ASSR Central Committee of Komsomol, elected to the membership of the All-Union Komsomol Central Committee Bureau (Moscow), 1986-2008 MP, member of RA Supreme Council Presidium

1990-1995 and 1995-1996, MP, head of National Assembly standing committee on social and healthcare and environmental affaires

1995-1997, deputy head of CIS inter-parliamentary assembly social affairs commission

1996-1998, RA Minister of Social Security

1996-2008, member, head of the Armenian delegation to the international congress of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, member of the women’s affairs coordinating council

1999-2003, member and deputy head of EU-Armenia Inter-Parliamentary Commission

June 2008, Head of the RA State Committee on Diaspora Affaires by the Foreign Relations Ministry

June 2008, Head of the State Committee on Diaspora Affaires by the Foreign Relations Ministry

October 2008, Minister of Diaspora

On June 16, 2012, re-appointed to the post of Minister of Diaspora.

A presidential decree was issued on May 8, 2013 to re-appoint him to Minister of Diaspora.

From April 23, 2014 re-elected Minister of Diaspora.

Author of 5 books and over 40 research papers

Trustee of several funds, founder of the US-Armenia Health Care Center, Chair of the Armenian Women's Union, member of YSU, YBU and SAU academic boards, Armenia’s Youth Parliament founder

Holder of a number of State and government decorations, medals and awards, senior reader at the RA Public Administration Academy and the State University of Gavar, recognized as Woman of the Year, MP of the Year, Political Figure of the Year

2008, RA Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary under a presidential decree