Ara Babloyan Receives Ambassador of Czech Republic to Armenia


On May 29, the RA NA President Ara Babloyan received the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Czech Republic to the RA Petr Mikyska.

Welcoming the Ambassador in the parliament, Ara Babloyan highlighted the role of the inter-parliamentary relations, especially the parliamentary friendship groups in the development of the bilateral relations.

The RA NA President expressed his gratitude to the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament for adopting the resolution on recognition and condemnation of the Armenian Genocide and other crimes committed against mankind, considering this step one more victory of justice in the world.

In this context Ara Babloyan noted: “I am proud that my people, surviving the Genocide, not having statehood through many years, could create a democratic and sustainable state, which today helps the other people to overcome similar problems facing them.”

The RA NA President has noted that Armenia and Azerbaijan go on through different paths: we have chosen the path of democracy, and Azerbaijan – the opposite, gradually weakens the democracy.

On the occasion of being elected the President of the RA National Assembly, Petr Mikyska conveyed the Congratulations Letters from Milan Štěch and Jan Hamáček, President of the Senate and President of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Republic respectively.

Ambassador Mikyska touched upon the development of the Armenian-Czech and the inter-parliamentary relations and reaffirmed the invitation from the President of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Republic to the President of the National Assembly to visit the Czech Republic.

Petr Mikyska highlighted the role of the mutual visits, exchange programmes of students and physicians in the development of cooperation between the two countries.

At the end of the meeting, the interlocutors touched upon the constitutional amendments in Armenia, the advantages of the parliamentary system of government and the activities of the opposition in the new parliament. 

← Back to the list